Project 365 – day 11

Today I went to the pub after work for the first time in about 4 months (which is also why I am late with the post, again).

My plan was to have some pints with a couple of people and catch a nice portrait in the process.

We had a lot of fun, also talked about photography in the meantime, and I thought I got the portrait I wanted, which you can see on the left. But than the usual group pictures started happening so I pulled the flash out of the bag and after the first shots realized that the place seemed to be great for low key photos – wide open, high ceiling and not a lot around to be distracting or in the way of business.

I set up the flash on the Gorillapod to align it exactly how I wanted, retracted the internal diffusor for the 14mm setting and put the bounce diffusor on top to scatter the light as much as possible. Not mandatory but not liking the exposure I also reduced the camera and flash exposures by 1 EV.

Konstantin’s face (on the left) had been a bit overexposed – he was closer to the flash – a minus 0,3EV brush has been applied.

Note how you can also see the catchlight of the flash in both his and Adam’s eyes and a small portion on the lips and forehead due to the flash pointing directly at them. A softbox/umbrella would have fixed this problem, but since it was on the spot shooting I am happy with the result.


“Blackout”
7D @ 50 1.4
1/250 @ f4.0 @ iso 100
430EXII @14 + diffusor
-1EV camera & flash

This entry was posted in 365 and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Project 365 – day 11

  1. Grim says:

    Can you reset the router so I can vote again?

Leave a Reply

